Taxonomy Landing Page

Taxonomy IMage

Indy Car


Indy Racing League, LLC, more commonly known as INDYCAR, is the chief sanctioning body of championship open-wheeled auto racing in the United States. The  premier series, IZOD IndyCar Series (often abbreviated ICS or IICS)series competes in 19 races at 16 venues in 2013. The 19 race schedule includes street circuits, natural terrain roads courses and oval tracks. Every May the series visits the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the Indianapolis 500, a Memorial Day classic since 1911. Races are currently held in the United States, Canada and Brazil.

The open wheeled cars, weighing just under1600 pounds, are powered by 2.2 Liter turbocharged engines producing up to 700 horsepower.

INDYCAR sanctions three developmental series. These series are: Firestone Indy Lights, the Star Mazda Championship and the U.S. F2000 National Championship, which are all a part of The Road To Indy. Today's INDYCAR is the culmination of multiple divisions in American open wheel racing following years of turmoil between IRL and CART and influence from USAC and SCCA.